• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Millie

Millie

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 24 posts

Posted 03 September 2018 - 11:45 AM

I have a few questions if thats ok?? I will try and keep it simple....
Georgie is perm outside now, he has a little house with heat bulb but he doesnt stay in that and rect hes been burying, I have been digging him up and putting him in his house at night, then in the morning he gets up and then goes out and buries again??
Q1 is this little house not sufficient anymore?
Q2 would a cold frame be better and lock him in on cold days ?
Q3 is he getting ready for hibernation this early?

Sorry Im new to this!! X

#2 Millie

Millie

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 24 posts

Posted 03 September 2018 - 11:48 AM

http://www.hermann-t...1529132843.jpeg

#3 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,907 posts

Posted 04 September 2018 - 02:11 AM

I have a few questions if thats ok?? I will try and keep it simple....
Georgie is perm outside now, he has a little house with heat bulb but he doesnt stay in that and rect hes been burying, I have been digging him up and putting him in his house at night, then in the morning he gets up and then goes out and buries again??
Q1 is this little house not sufficient anymore?
Q2 would a cold frame be better and lock him in on cold days ?
Q3 is he getting ready for hibernation this early?

Sorry Im new to this!! X

Hi Millie,

It's the change in the weather that's making him dig down, he needs to warm through on a morning now before going out and have the option to warm back up if he wants too, can he dig down in the hut over night as some night time temperatures now are quite low or do you have some form of heating in there to keep the night time temps up maybe some thing to think about, are you planning on hibernating him it is a little too early yet though so you do need to try and keep him going a bit longer. 

Lovely set up you have there.  :)