Temps

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 JenB

JenB

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Interests:I have two children, both girls (aged 12 years and 18mths)
    I am an A and E nurse in Manchester and love every minute of it.

Love camping, cycling and anything fun and exciting.

We have two cats, Marilyn and Jimmy and now our new addition Hank the tortoise!

Posted 19 August 2016 - 05:27 AM

Hi everyone, in the outdoor house (cave area) what should the maximum temperature? The frost heater is on it there but I'm only reaching temps of 14 at its highest. I haven't moved Hank in because I thought it was too cold. Do I need a bigger watt frost heater to put out more heat?

#2 wizzasmum

wizzasmum

Advanced Tortoise Member

• PipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Interests:Family
    Tortoise keeping and breeding
    Gardening
    Greyhound rescue
    Reading
    Walking
    Travelling

Posted 19 August 2016 - 08:19 AM

What heater are you using? Do you have a door? Temps get low even in the wild, it's the sun and basking facilities that are important. Torts only warm up by basking and not by background heat. To be honest it's too late in the season now for him to adjust to outdoor temps, as by the time he's got used to it it will be time to bring him in, meaning his weight will not be good for hibernation. Frost heaters are just what they say, they are designed to keep the area safe, not to warm the tortoises up to feeding temps.

#3 JenB

JenB

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 19 August 2016 - 08:43 AM

I have a tube frost heater in the kennel to just keep the edge of the cold whilst he sleeps. We boarded up the door with wood and left enough space for him to get in and out. I was worried 12-14 was too low in there and he would never come out.
Outside the kennel area I have a basking lamp under some perspex sheet which gets up to around 32.

I did think I was going to have to wait until next year now.

#4 wizzasmum

wizzasmum