11 replies to this topic

#1 abigsnail1992

abigsnail1992

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 March 2016 - 11:16 PM

Hi All,

I'm still fairly new to the tort community & could do with some advice! I got my little Hermann, Norman, last August & he hatched in 2014 (captive-bred, I believe). The pet store I bought him from gave me a fair bit of info about tortoise care, which I've followed, however I'm a little concerned if following them is right.

The place I got him from kept him & his siblings in a viv, where the light was on for around 12 hours a day but heat was constant, which I've kept to as that's what Norm is used to. However, I keep him in an open table top so he gets some ventilation, and it has a little 'bedroom bit' where he has some shredded paper to snuggle in if he wants. I've set a little water dish into the Herbifloor-ing & he has his little log cave if he wants to hide. I bathe him 2-3 times a week to stop him from dehydrating too.