13 replies to this topic

#1 CKelly2488

CKelly2488

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 07 March 2019 - 09:31 AM

Hi All,

I am new to having two little Hermann tortoises (since Monday) and I am a little worried as they don't seem to be eating very much. I was advised to buy dried leaves/flowers and rehydrate them and then add a few fresh bits. Im finding searching on foods they eat very contradicting. They don't appear to be eating any of the re-hydrated food at all. They have had a little bit of kale, carrot, cress and romaine. I understand it is a new environment for them so they are a little nervous. I just want to make sure I am feeding them the right things and giving a variety and not too much of the wrong things/over facing them. Im finding searching the internet too confusing and want to do the best for them.

Thanks in advance.

#2 babettebeau

babettebeau

Advanced Tortoise Member

• PipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Interests:Naturopathic nutrition, biology, physiology and biochemistry, Iyengar yoga, meditation and mindfulness, swimming, food, cooking, baking, growing flowers and plants, nature in general, travel. Metaphysics and the Universal Laws, which are above the "human made" laws.

Posted 07 March 2019 - 12:20 PM

HI there

You can buy this book

http://www.hermann-t...?showtopic=9780

And you can grow weeds, here are two sources t buy some:

http://www.hermann-t...?showtopic=9781

http://www.hermann-t...wtopic=9868&hl=

Carottes, Kale, salads are not suitable and nutritionally good for Hermann tortoises. Also please do not gove fruits.

If you needs weeds names to feed urgently, please let us know.

Sabina

#3 CKelly2488

CKelly2488

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 07 March 2019 - 01:08 PM

Thanks Sabina.