Cecil Hermantrude

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Hayley_Elizabeth_*

Guest_Hayley_Elizabeth_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 February 2006 - 03:06 PM

Hayley Elizabeth

Hi eveyone I picked up my 1 year old herman on Sunday! He's smashing I'm gonna have another 1 in a couple of week! Has any one got any top tips? Do you all turn your spots and heat matts of in the vivs at night? Can you put anything in there vivs for them? How hot is it in your vivs? }>

#2 Guest_Kerismurfit_*

Guest_Kerismurfit_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 February 2006 - 03:58 PM

[updated:LAST EDITED ON 07-02-06 AT 04:00 PM (GMT)]Hello Hayley,

Congratulations on your new arrival!!.
I'm no expert but I have learn't so much from the people on this forum and one of the biggest no no's is the viv. Most people on here advocate the tortoise table, vivariums are no good for torts as they hold alot of stale air and tort's need good ventilation

www.pettortoise.co.uk/tortoise_table.php

Mine is made from an under bed storage box with a few flat stones in there for interest and a little hollow log for them to hide in. I also have a combined heat and uv light which comes on at 7am and is off at 7pm. Also no to the heat matt it can do more harm than good.

I'm sure the others will be along soon to advise you better.

I found a lot of help from these useful sites:
www.tlady.clara.net/TortGuide/index.htm

www.tortoisetrust.org

Keri

#3 Guest_Hayley_Elizabeth_*

Guest_Hayley_Elizabeth_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 February 2006 - 04:18 PM

Hi I have already turned the heat mat off. He has big air vents in the top of his cage. He seems quite happy. I was gonna put him a hollow log in to but didn't want him to hurt himself.

#4 Guest_omare_*

Guest_omare_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 February 2006 - 04:22 PM