- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Tortle Gal_*

Guest_Tortle Gal_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 March 2006 - 05:48 PM

Hello there.
Can anyone tell me why buying a tortoise around 5 years old is better than younger?
Thanks

#2 Guest_p1glet_*

Guest_p1glet_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 March 2006 - 06:43 PM

hi tortle gal
Welcome to the forum, now why do you ask this question i don't think it matters what age tortoise you have as long as you follow the correct husbandry guide lines there is no difference in the care of a hatchling to the care of an older animal except space
Darren

#3 Guest_Tortle Gal_*

Guest_Tortle Gal_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 March 2006 - 06:46 PM

Hi Darren.
The reason I ask is that, having looked around at different sites, sellers seem to make the point that the fact the Hermanns are 5 years old is advantageous, as opposed to younger ones.
I'm just starting out, well for my daughter's birthday actually in july! I have ordered two Hermanns and they are being kept until then.

#4 Guest_george_hermann_*

Guest_george_hermann_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 March 2006 - 06:53 PM

Kept by the dealer until then? Harsh. :o

#5 Guest_Tortle Gal_*

Guest_Tortle Gal_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 March 2006 - 06:55 PM

Is the breeder at Buyatortoise.

#6 Guest_Calamity Jane_*

Guest_Calamity Jane_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 March 2006 - 07:18 PM

[updated:LAST EDITED ON 02-03-06 AT 07:19 PM (GMT)]Hi Tortle Gal,
Welcome to the forum,

Its right just as Darren says, There is no difference from what age is best as long as you know what requirements is needed for which certain type of tortoise you get,It is essentail that you do plenty of research, before you buy any tortoises.
You have come to the right place for any advice.:o

Yours
Calamity Jane
www.tortoises.piczo.com
www.thetorthouse.piczo.com
www.Testudo-hermanni-boettgeri.piczo.com
My Tortoises:
1.4.2 Hermanns

#7 Guest_veebee_*

Guest_veebee_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 March 2006 - 07:29 PM