Sexing Ringo

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_george_hermann_*

Guest_george_hermann_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 March 2006 - 05:57 PM

Evening :) I hope i'm not jumping on the 'sexing' bandwagon, but i'd be interested to hear if it's possible to sex a tortoise before the age of four? Ringo is 3 years old, and we've always naturally assumed that 'he's' a 'he'! Maybe it's because he's still relatively small, but i'm not that good at calling this one.

Hopefully one of the more experienced tortoise keepers out there could lend an opinion?!

Thanks!

I am not one of those who, in expressing opinions, confine themselves to facts - Mark Twain

#2 Guest_jeff_*

Guest_jeff_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 March 2006 - 06:16 PM

Hi there any chance of a photo of the plastron,thanks jeff

#3 Guest_vale46_1_*

Guest_vale46_1_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 March 2006 - 06:26 PM

[updated:LAST EDITED ON 24-03-06 AT 06:30 PM (GMT)]Hi George

Based purely on the size of the claw on the end of the tale my guess would be female, but there is time for her/him to grow and prove me wrong.

Steve

#4 Guest_george_hermann_*

Guest_george_hermann_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 March 2006 - 06:28 PM

Apologies for the lousy photo Jeff, this is literally hot off the press LOL x(

#5 Guest_jeff_*

Guest_jeff_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 March 2006 - 10:26 PM

HI there i would say female looking at the anal scutes, males are more arched than a female.hope this helps jeff

#6 Guest_jonnydotcom_*

Guest_jonnydotcom_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 March 2006 - 06:25 PM

not 100% sure but i think ringo is a girl,
remember reading somewhere that its to do with the lenght of the tail short tail female/long tail male

like i said i aint 100% sure but i am sure that some1 on ere will help you,

jonny

#7 Guest_jonnydotcom_*

Guest_jonnydotcom_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 March 2006 - 06:26 PM

just remembered where i saw it, on this site in the caresheets link

#8 Guest_george_hermann_*

Guest_george_hermann_*