What are the differences between Hermanns and Horsfields

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Pitcorthie_*

Guest_Pitcorthie_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 July 2006 - 06:38 PM

I am new to this as you can tell;)
What are the main differences between Hermanns and Horsfields?
Which one would be suitable for a beginner?

Thank you
Sharon

#2 Guest_arnhib_*

Guest_arnhib_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 July 2006 - 11:36 AM

I'm trying to think which one would be better for Scotland, I know the Horesfeildi doesn't like cold damp weather, so maybe a Hermann would be better, these can't tunnel eaither so less likely to escape, as a russian wouldn't cope at all well without you looking after him if he did get out, I would go for a Hermann I think, you will need plenty of warmth for him even in the summer months night and day so it won't be cheap electrically.
Arnie

#3 Guest_Pitcorthie_*

Guest_Pitcorthie_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 July 2006 - 01:21 PM

Thanks Arnie,My hubby prefers Hermanns too:-)

Sharon

#4 Guest_Ozric_*

Guest_Ozric_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 July 2006 - 02:03 PM

Hi there, the weather in Scotland is not much different most of the time from the North West of England. I live on the West side and in the last few years we have had snow twice and once it lasted less than 24 hours. This year if has been hot and sunny for the last two months. I from what I have read and found out in my short time with tortoises Hermanns are fine in Scotland but we have to be careful in Spring and Autumn and take extra care with younger ones. I bring mine in every night including if its very mild in summer. With care Hermanns can do really well.

#5 Guest_Tinkerbell_*

Guest_Tinkerbell_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 August 2006 - 01:52 PM

Hermann would be better, these can't tunnel eaither so less likely to escape,

Hi Guys,