Urgent - Dying Hermanns tortoise

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_cueboy_*

Guest_cueboy_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 December 2006 - 04:00 AM

My hermann's tortoise TT has been sick since today afternoon. He wasn't eating too well, and slept a lot before, and today it got much worse. He's shaking, and unable to move properly, looks like TT is having spasms.

After some research, I'm thinking it could be a herpes virus, or catching a cold, any other ideas?

I'll take TT to a vet tomorrow, and hopefully they'll have a cure for it.

I'm really worried about him, he doesn't seem to be in a good condition at all.

Any help is appreciated.

#2 Guest_zenbird_*

Guest_zenbird_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 December 2006 - 09:39 AM

Hi,

I'm not an expert so can't help much, but make sure you keep him warm.

I'm sure someone on here will be able to help you soon.

#3 Guest_jadums_*

Guest_jadums_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 December 2006 - 11:13 AM

Hi

I'm the same as Zenbird I'm afraid, def. make sure you keep the tort warm. Has it got a background heat in the room as well, like a radiator or something?

Keep bathing in warm water and dry it after as if it is a cold they can get dehydrated.

How long have you had the tortoise? Where did you get it from? is it a hermann? If it is with others make sure you separate it so if it has anything contagious it won't pass it on.

I am emailing Andy Highfield as we speak. He does a lot of work here and in the US. I know you're in Toronto but maybe he also knows a vet their in Canada for you to contact. Let you know asap.

Jade :)
P.s if the vet that you find decided to give it antibiotics make sure its something like ciprofoxacin/ofloxaxcin 10mg/kg every 48hrs which has very good results against pneumonia and gram-negative pathogens (virus) or enrofloxacin (baytril) 10mg/kg every 48 hrs for 10 days altho the latter is mainly used for respitatory problems.

#4 Guest_jadums_*

Guest_jadums_*
  • Guests