Help - poorly tortoise

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_helencth_*

Guest_helencth_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 January 2007 - 10:56 AM

I've just been to feed my tortoise and he is barely moving and eyes are shut. I get a reaction when I touch his feet or head but he still won't open his eyes. His eyes looks a little bit sticky and there may possibly be a bit of a noise occassionally with his breathing. This has happened overnight cos he was fine yesterday. Any ideas? what should I do?

love many, trust a few but always paddle your own canoe

#2 Guest_loopeylass_*

Guest_loopeylass_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 January 2007 - 04:03 PM

Hi how long have you had your tort for? I am no expert but maybe try giving him a warm bath to see if that stimulates him, hopefully someone with more knowledge will be here soon. If bath does not help maybe a trip to a vet would put your mind at rest sorry i cant help more but i am sure someone will soon

i hope things work out ok

http://www.trippytex...9b96cb36658.gif[/IMG][/URL]

#3 Guest_lepinsky_*

Guest_lepinsky_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 January 2007 - 04:45 PM

Loopey's suggestion of a warm bath is a good one (warm water up to where top and bottom shell meet, for 15 or 20 minutes). Can you tell us how you are keeping your tort (type of enclosure, temperatures at hot and cool end, how old he is, diet, etc)? It all helps us to try and find out what is wrong. But I'd say that if your temperatures are right and he doesn't improve soon, do make an appointment with a good tort vet. Do you have one near you?

Nina

#4 Guest_helencth_*

Guest_helencth_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 January 2007 - 04:50 PM