WORMS

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_alberts_owner_*

Guest_alberts_owner_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 July 2007 - 06:04 PM

Help! Got albert almost 1 yr ago - he was wormed before I got him form Carlisle Tortoises and have wormed him 6 monthly - including 3 weeks ago. Got Grace his little friend from the same place. Albert is about 7 cm long and 92g, and the last 2 weeks he has been very sleepy and off his food.

Today he passed a 6.5 cm thin worm, still wiggling, following his bath - and on inspection of the poo he had done in the bath there were quite a few tiny white fine worms in the stool. I am mortified - is it something Ive done? should I have done something different - have I really missed this for a while? I am a trainee doctor - so I would like to think I have some nouse about me!

I rang the emergancy vet and he said just see my proper vet tomorrow - for repeat worming - but would really like to hear your views on this and whether this has happened to anyone else.

Jillian xxx

#2 Guest_andrew b 1_*

Guest_andrew b 1_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 July 2007 - 06:28 PM

[updated:LAST EDITED ON 15-07-07 AT 06:28 PM (GMT)]there have been a lot of carlisle tortoise deaths recently, worms are nothing compaired to that. i dont think its a real problem, just needs a wormer

#3 Guest_alberts_owner_*

Guest_alberts_owner_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 July 2007 - 06:35 PM

thats good news - is it likely to do any long term harm? Has albert been brewing this up for a year? if so why ahsnt the 2 worm treatments killed it? J xxx

#4 Guest_lilacgeorge_*

Guest_lilacgeorge_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 July 2007 - 06:38 PM

Well done Andrew, nothing like giving a new owner confidence!!!!!

#5 Guest_lepinsky_*

Guest_lepinsky_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 July 2007 - 08:25 PM