does my tort need hibernating

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_wensmith_*

Guest_wensmith_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 December 2007 - 11:50 AM

Hi

Please can anyone advise me, i own a 6 1/2 year old hermann tortoise, ive been told not to hibernate him saying it would kill him!!! (by prev owner) but ive noticed these last 4 weeks or so that he dont want to eat & just sleeps all the time and dont seem all that interested in life, his temps and lighting are all correct, i have to force him out his house to be bathed and so he can wonder about my house for exercise he loves this usually but a couple of times he founds the nearest spot to stop & go back sleep, do you think i should be hibernating him or is he trying to hibernate himself.

Thank you

#2 Guest_johnherman_*

Guest_johnherman_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 December 2007 - 11:56 AM

HI

I am relatively new to tortoise husbandry, I have a 06 hatchling and I have just put him into hibernation for the first time using the fridge method, I still have loads of worries and questions but from doing my own research and looking at different information sites, I would say that your tort is trying to tell you he wants to hibernate, you would still need to do the wind down period with no food and regular baths etc but I would definately hibernate him. Hope this helps a bit, a good person to talk to is lilacgeorge she has given me some great advice and put my mind at rest on more than one occasion......anyhew hope to chat to you again.

Claire x

#3 Guest_wensmith_*

Guest_wensmith_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 December 2007 - 12:03 PM

Hi