Hibernation this year

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Hettie_*

Guest_Hettie_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 July 2008 - 09:18 PM

Hi Chaps,
as you are probably aware Hettie has not had a great year regarding her health. I have just completed the daily bathing of her most recent patch of shell rot, I was given some advice that it wasnt new rot but because of her shell growth it had become apparent, thanks to the zoom on my digital camera I think this advice is correct. ANYWAY..... I was wondering whether or not she should hibernate this year? does it just depend on her weight later in the year? or because she's had several illnesses should I overwinter her? I have never done this before so would need loooooads of help!
Sorry to go on but Hettie is an 04 hatchling, what size table would she require to be happy? I don't think after a summer outside she would appreciate going back into the converted viv!! (although I did wonder about using it without doors inside the table enclosure as her shelter area)?
What size table do adults need? It might be worth me going straight for this rather than another temporary fix?
Would I be better going for a tort shed? I would feel guilty about this option though... outside, on her little ownsome in the winter x(

All thoughts really, really welcome!!

Paula

#2 Guest_lilacgeorge_*

Guest_lilacgeorge_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 July 2008 - 10:01 PM

HI Paula, I wouldn't worry about hibernating her just yet....get her shell sorted first - blimey girl! You've got enough stress worrying bout that without worrying bout whether to hibernate as well!!! Lol!!! :7

#3 Guest_Hettie_*

Guest_Hettie_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 July 2008 - 10:50 PM

Tell me about it Dawn, this was posted last night and I discovered 'the rot' this morning! Priority obviously lower, if at all now!!! Just when you think all is better...
Paula

#4 Guest_lilacgeorge_*

Guest_lilacgeorge_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 July 2008 - 09:28 PM