- - - - -

Im a newbie with lots of questions

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Tori_*

Guest_Tori_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 May 2007 - 01:55 PM

Hi! This looked a nice site, so I thought I'd say hi.
I have a very old tortoise. My vet thinks maybe even over 60. I don't know what kind he is, but I am going to take pics so maybe someone could tell me. It sounds awful having him so long and not knowing his breed, but I love him as a pet, and part of the family, and had no need to breed him, so I never enquired.
I have had him for 25 years. I don't think he is a Hermann, as he is a very dark brown. Maybe this is just age? Are they that light colour just while they are up to 10 years or so maybe?
I never hibernate him now. I did for the first few years, but he got so upset I could'nt bear it any longer, he now digs under the shed every year, and comes out when he's happy. He eats really well, a mixture of grass and weeds, and treats, strawberries are his favourite, he poo's all over my lawn ;-) is friendly, and generally seems really happy. Last summer I noticed that he was racing up and down the garden more, and my vet thinks he may be looking for a friend? I'm assuming he meant of the opposite sex? I don't really want to breed from him, although I'm sure it would be fab, and if I got another tortoise, I'd like an older one for him to keep company with, that was used to the outdoors. Or maybe fins someone local to me, who maybe wanted babies, and my Tommy could, well, come out to play with? What do you suggest? I would like another tortoise for him to be with, btu as I said, one that was a bit older. I must get pics done so someone can tell me what breed, and maybe how old he is. Any ideas woudl be appreciated, and also if I'm doing the right thing leaving him out all the time. Thanks!

#2 Guest_lepinsky_*

Guest_lepinsky_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 May 2007 - 03:34 PM

Hi Tori,