Fridge Method

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_stargazer_*

Guest_stargazer_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 November 2008 - 02:37 PM

Hi

Do most people who use the fridge method for hibernation have separate fridges or do you use your kitchen fridge and is this ok with the door being opened more frequently than it would for a fridge specifically for the torts?

Thanks

#2 Guest_Hettie_*

Guest_Hettie_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 November 2008 - 10:12 PM

Hello there,

I have had no experience of hibernation yet as my little lady has been too poorly, I have read quite a few posts about what others do, and the answer seems to be a bit of both!!
I suppose everyone would like a fridge especially for their torts, but if you don't have one your kitchen one will do quite nicely!!
The main thing is the temperature, if you could measure this and make sure it is consistant befrore deciding. Opening the door shouldn't make too much difference....as long as your quick!! biggrin.gif And which ever option you choose you will need to open the door at regular intervals to change the air for torty!
I'm sure someone else with more knowledge and experience will be along soon and be able to offer more than a friendly word!!

Paula x

#3 Guest_Ozric_*

Guest_Ozric_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 November 2008 - 10:53 PM

There are a couple of reasons why its a compromise to hibernate your tort in the fridge where you keep your milk and butter. There is an issue about possible contamination of your foodstuffs because tortoise do carry all kinds of bacteria and the like. I don't know how likely this is to happen, and you could guard against it some extent. Another reason is that you might not want your fridge at a temp to suit your tort.