Hibernation

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Ziggystar_*

Guest_Ziggystar_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 January 2009 - 09:24 PM

Hi, I'm new to this although I have had my Tortoise, Ziggy for 18 months. I was told when I bought Ziggy that I wasn't to hibernate him/her till winter 2009. Ziggy would then be 3 and a half years old.

Since finding this sign its now clear that maybe I should have hibernated probably this year. Should I had done?

I also went to find Ziggy's certificate so that I could find out how old he/she was. The certificate says that I have to Microchip him/her when Ziggy gets to a certain size and also I have to apply for another certificate as the owner is the person in section one which is the pet shop. I guess I didn't read the certificate when I got Ziggy but I wondered if this is what everyone has to do when their Tortoise reaches a certain size.

Lastly what age do tortoises become adults and when can they be sexed.... Ziggy will be 3 in June and his/her tail is small and looks the same as pictures of an adult female.... Can I assume she's female or is it still to early.

Thanks in advanced.

#2 Guest_lilacgeorge_*

Guest_lilacgeorge_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2009 - 09:32 AM

Hi Maxine & Ziggy...

QUOTE (Ziggystar @ Jan 29 2009, 09:24 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi, I'm new to this although I have had my Tortoise, Ziggy for 18 months. I was told when I bought Ziggy that I wasn't to hibernate him/her till winter 2009. Ziggy would then be 3 and a half years old.

utter rubbish Im afraid.... they can be hibernated from hatchlings though most people tend to wait till they are about a year old. One of mine is just over a year and she's doing fine. In the wild they would naturally hibernate from birth I beleive

Since finding this sign its now clear that maybe I should have hibernated probably this year. Should I had done?