Fertile eggs?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_tasmin_*

Guest_tasmin_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 June 2010 - 10:11 PM

Hello,

I have been incubating 6 tortoise eggs for just over 2 months now, how do I know if there is any life in them or not? what should they look like by now?

I have tried the torch technique carefully, there is a little shadow where I think the embryo has attached itself, and some seem to have gone a bit bigger, but I think they may have died and stopped developing. How can I tell for sure?

Thank you for any help :-)

#2 Guest_Freddy McGavin_*

Guest_Freddy McGavin_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 June 2010 - 10:44 PM

Hi Tasmin,
You might try looking at the forum topic 'eggs' for more info. Or alternatively you can wait for the advice of Sandy (Cyberangel) or Terry (Terrypin).They should be back on the forum early tomorrow!!!
Regards
Freddy

#3 Guest_brucefairweather_*

Guest_brucefairweather_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 June 2010 - 06:34 AM

after two months you should not be seeing to much inside the egg as the tortoise would have filled the egg by now if it was fertlie.i just cracked open my eggs and they were all empty apart from the yolk in the bottom

#4 Guest_Dawn_*

Guest_Dawn_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 June 2010 - 07:13 AM

I will post some pics of myeggs later where you can see the difference between fertile & infertile by candling.

#5 Guest_cyberangel_*

Guest_cyberangel_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 June 2010 - 07:35 AM

Lol Dawn, I have been candling for over 16yrs, and can still get it wrong:0)
I do know the eggs change colour, from a sort of opaque pink to a chalky white. And when nearing hatching they look blackish inside. But not all my fertile eggs look like this. Which is so confusing to me:0)

#6 Guest_cyberangel_*

Guest_cyberangel_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 June 2010 - 07:38 AM

Tasmin

Incubation temps make a lot of difference in how long before your eggs hatch.