Bedding

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_sweetheartblues_*

Guest_sweetheartblues_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 September 2010 - 10:21 PM

Hello,

I'm new to the world of tortoises and would just like some advice on what is the best bedding for a tortoise in an indoor inclosure. At the moment its been burying itself into newspaper cuttings in its shelter which it seems to enjoy. Any help would be much appreciated :)

#2 Guest_xsammie89x_*

Guest_xsammie89x_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 September 2010 - 07:33 AM

Hi and welcome

For the whole enclosure i just use topsoil, i make it deeper in the colder compartment which has a lid on, so they can bury down. What youllfind is that your tortoise will decide where it wants to sleep for itself, so although you make a sleeping area it might not use it.

I have four tortoises, my 2 and a half year olds; one sleeps in the cold end and one sleeps in the warm end in the corner closest to the light.

My 2 month olds; neither sleep in the lidded area, they prefer to dig in the same corner together until you cant actually see them anymore lol

So personally, i would just use the same substrate as the rest of the enclosure which i would reccomend using either topsoil, or a topsoil and playsand mix

Hope this helps :)

Sam

#3 Guest_Freddy McGavin_*

Guest_Freddy McGavin_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 September 2010 - 11:11 AM

Hi There and Welcome to the forum,
If you are looking for soft bedding you could try using readigrass available from most reptile shops. This would need to be changed at least once a week. Hope this helps. Best of luck ;)
Kind Regards
Freddy :D

#4 Guest_Pat_*

Guest_Pat_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 September 2010 - 12:53 PM