• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_ammej_*

Guest_ammej_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 August 2005 - 10:24 AM

ammej!!!

hi,
i have got 2 russian torts who are 7wks old, I am a bit worried about hibernating them this yr (i am quite new to all this). I have decided i would like to overwinter them just for the 1st year. Is there and info on how to do this?
any help would be good! :D

jemma

#2 Guest_arnhib_*

Guest_arnhib_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 August 2005 - 07:47 PM

Hello Jemma
Who would ever winter them in the wild, if they appear healthy it's best for them, it would only be for 2 months
http://www.thetortoisehouse.com
This site deals with russians in the UK and you may find it helpful
You wouldn't be alone we would be here to help you
Arnie

#3 Guest_ammej_*

Guest_ammej_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 August 2005 - 10:55 AM

ammej!!!

hey thats the site where i contacted the lady and where i got my russians from!:7

ok i will think more about hibernating them. Although i have heard the younger they are the more chance there is of them dieing!:-(
I am a little worried about hibernating them, but i will.

#4 Guest_emma72_*

Guest_emma72_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 August 2005 - 10:54 AM

i've been told that you dont have to hibernate your russian torts ....

#5 Guest_ammej_*

Guest_ammej_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 August 2005 - 11:23 AM

ammej!!!

oh are you sure, i heard that it is important to hibernate russians as they only eat for 4-6 months of the year so they need to hibernate to make sure they dont eat too much.
jemma

#6 Guest_emma72_*

Guest_emma72_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 August 2005 - 11:27 AM

that was wot i was told ..but from all the advice i get from here i'm going to hibernate him...thinking of doing the fridge one

#7 Guest_ammej_*

Guest_ammej_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 August 2005 - 11:33 AM

ammej!!!

hi emma,

how old is your tort(s) ??

jemma

#8 Guest_emma72_*

Guest_emma72_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 August 2005 - 11:37 AM

max is 2 years old