Weight loss - a stubborn tortoise with a track record

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Guest_alberts_owner_*

Guest_alberts_owner_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 January 2011 - 06:33 PM

Dear all learned community.

I feel I have some experience of hibernation from the limited (4 year) experience of hibernating our 2 young tortoises - both in their 6th winter but I feel I would need some more expert advice for the more troublesome of our 2 tortoises.

The male tortoise is a persistent problem hibernating as he regularly looses more weight than that considered safe. We had to take him out after around 4-5 weeks last year as he lost too much weight. I was determined to leave him in as long as possible (was aiming for at least 12 weeks - if not the full 16). The fridge we hibernate in is usually around 3.5 - 4.5c on the bottom and 5.5 - 6.5c on the top and we usually make sure a tortoise that looks as though it is losing weight has the colder part of the fridge.

I am pretty certain he does not have worms as he has been wormed every year - had been assessed as being free of worms for around 4 years, has not showed any sign of dead or alive worms in poo and has put on a reasonable weight gain this year (around +20-30g peak). Our other tortoise Albert (a female!) has also consistently put on a lot of weight (3-4 times more so than Grace)

Basic facts are: - His summer approx peak this year was 323g (Just for comparison our female tortoise's peak was around 580g).

On the first day of wind down and no food he was 302g,