- - - - -

Complete newbie! - Horsfields

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Saira_*

Guest_Saira_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 March 2011 - 09:39 PM

Hiya! I'm completely new to tortoises - barr helping my sister with hers 8 years ago on complete utter rubbish shop advice (Actually learning the truth is making me teary, he could have been saved!!!), I'm hoping to buy one within the next year - it was going to be after I come back from my holiday in Oct if I can find one that isn't hibernating or whatever. (Until recently I didnt know they did due to a shop keeper telling my sister such things!)

Anyway, I've been trying to decide which kind would be best for me. As I've learnt Horsfields are diggers, and they sound VERY sweet. I have a few questions.

1.) Do they really go outside from birth??? Or when do they hibernate?
2.) How deep do they need their enclosures?
3.) How do you keep the bulbs waterproofed outdoors??

Many thanks

#2 Guest_miller07_*

Guest_miller07_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 March 2011 - 10:13 PM

QUOTE (Saira @ Mar 7 2011, 09:39 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hiya! I'm completely new to tortoises - barr helping my sister with hers 8 years ago on complete utter rubbish shop advice (Actually learning the truth is making me teary, he could have been saved!!!), I'm hoping to buy one within the next year - it was going to be after I come back from my holiday in Oct if I can find one that isn't hibernating or whatever. (Until recently I didnt know they did due to a shop keeper telling my sister such things!)

Anyway, I've been trying to decide which kind would be best for me. As I've learnt Horsfields are diggers, and they sound VERY sweet. I have a few questions.

1.) Do they really go outside from birth??? Or when do they hibernate?
2.) How deep do they need their enclosures?
3.) How do you keep the bulbs waterproofed outdoors??

Many thanks

Hi and welcome to the forums wink.gif