Hermann not eating

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Colin/wendy_*

Guest_Colin/wendy_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 July 2011 - 07:14 PM

First of all can i thank you all for a very helpful forum, im quite new to this, i have a 2 year old Hermann called Romeo, my girl friend bought him with a vivarium which i soon got rid of and made a tortoise table, i have a basking temp of about 40 and a cool spot of about 20.
He gets fed bits of apple and different types of weeds that i have grown from seeds, he had been eating up to about 2 days ago but now all he seems to do is sleep, i wake in in the morning and wake him when i come home, he bask for about 30mins then bury him self again is this normal
I have inc pic of Attached File  IMG_3624.JPG   1.88MB   86 downloads indoor table where you can just see him in the corner

Thanks Colin

#2 Guest_Freddy McGavin_*

Guest_Freddy McGavin_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 July 2011 - 07:39 PM

Hi Colin,
Your upper temps of 40 degrees are too hot. I would lower them to around 32-34 degrees. This is probably why your tort is burying himself. He may also be dehydrated and needs regular bathing. This would help his appetite and make him more active. Also, have you brought him to a vet for a health check. This is always wise with a new tortoise. Anyway Colin, I hope some of these suggestions help. Hopefully there will be others along shortly to offer you more helpful advice. Best of luck.
Kind Regards
Freddy

#3 Guest_JEANETTE_*

Guest_JEANETTE_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 July 2011 - 07:57 PM

Hi Colin

Welcome to the wonderful world of tortoise keeping and believe me you will learn something new every day and this is just the place to help you out, everyone on here are really friendly and will offer advice and support to ensure Romeo (love the name by the way) lives a good, healthy and long life.

How long have you had him?