First hibernation in 6 years

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Stellanne_*

Guest_Stellanne_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2011 - 05:33 PM

Help please. Going to adopt two new 6yr old torts who have never been hibernated..... What do I do? Will it happen naturally and I will 'go with the flow'. Or is there anything special I need to do. I have been told they are healthy but will get my vet to check them out when I get them x x x hugs x x

#2 Guest_tiggy_*

Guest_tiggy_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2011 - 05:54 PM

hi stellanne, im going to hibernate my 2 girls for the first time this year.im new to hibernation so i will be following your advice.im going to be watching this post with interest.....tiggy

#3 Guest_Hettie_*

Guest_Hettie_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2011 - 07:05 PM

Hi there,

Hibernation is a nerve wracking time for us all. :wacko: I only have two hibernations under my belt so still worry!

On the home page of our forums there is a section on hibernation, just click on the tab and there is lots of info to guide you. Then if you have a look through the hibernation forum section you can read the questions we have all asked... and if you still have any questions hopefully someone with lots of experience will come along with the answers! :laugh:

Paula x

#4 Guest_Stellanne_*

Guest_Stellanne_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2011 - 07:47 PM

Shell has always been hibernated. It is a worry. But she was just 2 and has done it as a natural process. Just concerned these two have never had chance of this natural process. Will they just do it or should I watch out fir stuff x x x hugs x x

#5 Guest_Hettie_*

Guest_Hettie_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 August 2011 - 08:06 PM

Mine have never just got on with it because of their environment. I provide them with UV lighting and additional heat so therefore they don't get the natural urge to do what comes naturally. It depends completely on your set up and how you keep them.