UV Light

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_bacardiman_*

Guest_bacardiman_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 September 2005 - 12:20 PM

Hello

Im new to the tortoise world, bought a vivarium setup 2nd hand, and a tort from a petshop.

Daft question time.
i have it all set up, apart from the UV Light.
How do i get the cables in to the light strip without cutting big holes in the mesh part of the top of the vivarium ?

I looked in the pet shop viv's, and they have small holes with the cables thru.

Any help, much appreciated.

Craig

#2 Guest_blondesarah_*

Guest_blondesarah_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 September 2005 - 12:34 PM

hiya vivariums arnt the best place to house a tortoise, but if you have to make sure they have a cool spot to cool down and a hot spot. you must either take the top off or take the glass doors off. the more holes you put in your vivarium for the air to circulate the better.

The best place to house a tortoise it on on book case (on its side) for an adult. For a baby a large container. For the heat use clip lights that clip to the side (with a goose neck) one with a spot light for heat and one for UVB. hope this helps.

#3 Guest_bacardiman_*

Guest_bacardiman_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 September 2005 - 02:18 PM

okay, i'll make holes in the roof mesh for the cables.

so, why do UK pet shops sell u a viv then ?, make more money ?

#4 Guest_blondesarah_*

Guest_blondesarah_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 September 2005 - 03:29 PM

yes just to make money, pet shops dont keep tortoises in the best conditions, you are best buying from breeders. I went to a pet shop today and the tortoises were in vivariums and selling tortoises for 165 breeders normally sell them for 85-100. vivariums are fine tho as long as there is a hot and cold spot and plenty of room for your tortoises to run around. are you taking the doors off your viv? have you been to the vet with your tortoise yet for a check up?

#5 Guest_arnhib_*

Guest_arnhib_*
  • Guests