Hibernation age

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Dorian

Dorian

Tortoise Forum Newby

• 1 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 09:21 PM

Hi I am new to tortoise keeping I have my vivarium up and running my Herman is 1 and 1/2..I have read lots but cant find any info on what age to hibernate...Someone told me 4 years. is this true....If I keep the lighting on for a 14 hours will this stop hibernation when the time comes....Do I want to do this. I have also heard preventing the natural need for hibernation is bad for them...Should i Hibernate this year or wait till she is older and more hardy...please help...

#2 Freddy

Freddy

Advanced Tortoise Member

• 890 posts
  • Interests:Journalism, Amateur Radio, History, Literature, Birdwatching, Tortoises.

Posted 13 April 2012 - 09:34 PM

Hi There,
No need to worry just yet.
2/3 years old is time enough to hibernate your tortoise.
Hope this helps.
Kind Regards
Freddy

#3 Chrissyan

Chrissyan

Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • 634 posts
  • Interests:New to tortoise keeping, grandmother to Rufus born 6th August 2011

Posted 13 April 2012 - 10:41 PM

Welcome to the forum Dorian. :) I am guessing that you bought your tortoise from a pet shop, hence the vivarium, it was probably recommended by them. Vivarium's are not really the best environment for Mediterranean tortoises, although plenty of people do use them. Perhaps later you may be able to change your viv for a tortoise table, although I don't think you need to worry. if that is not possible any time soon. As Freddy said, give your tort a couple of years before worrying about hibernation.

#4 Kelly

Kelly

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • 915 posts