9 replies to this topic

#1 Rachel

Rachel

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 July 2012 - 10:30 AM

Hi,

We've recently got a 3 year old Hermanns. She's been outside quite a bit with the good weather but for the last 3 days she's been inside as it's too cold for her outside. She wakes up at normal time (about 7), basks for a bit then eats all her food, she's urinating and pooing, loving her baths. Seeming healthy in every respects (although I'm a complete novice so don't really know) but then she'll suddenly put herself to bed after only a few hours of being awake. Does anyone know why this is?

It would be great to know what normal juvenile hermanns behaviour is like. How long they should sleep for etc.

Should I have a hide for her in the table seperate from her bed area so she can rest in that rather than actually go to bed?

Please help I really don't know what to do!

Thank you

Rachel

#2 Freddy

Freddy

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 948 posts
  • Interests:Journalism, Amateur Radio, Astronomy, History, Literature, Music, Photography, Gardening, Conservation, Birdwatching, Tortoises.

Posted 30 July 2012 - 11:01 AM

Hi Rachel,
I am not very experienced when it comes to the care of younger tortoises. However, I suspect that your tort might not be fully used to her enclosure which is why she is tucking herself away. It is also possible that your temperature gradient isn't quite right. It should be 33C at the basking end and 23C at the cooler end. Also, have you her lighting set up correctly, both UV and heat? They should be at one end of her enclosure. Sometimes a slight adjustment can improve things. I also think your little one could be missing the outdoor life. She will probably thrive again once she is outside. As long as she is eating, getting regular baths and passing urates and poo she is healthy enough.
Anyway Rachel, hopefully there will be others along shortly to offer you more helpful advice. Take care.