Photo
- - - - -

New 1 Yr Old Tortoise, Total Novice - Pls Help!

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 kimmie1985

kimmie1985

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 25 posts

Posted 31 July 2012 - 07:51 PM

Hi, today my dad arrived with a gift for my 2 yr old daughter, a 1 yr old herman tortoise! (from a registered breeder)
So basically i need to know everything! Ideally id like it to live outdoors. Am i right (from reading info on this site) that they dont need lamps when living outdoor only indoor? can they live outdoor all summer long (obviusly in a safe and secure inclosure)? I am feeling rather overwhemled with this huge responsibility and want to know how to do things proberly for the best care for our new tortoise! (My dad thought cos i used to work in a vets, that i'd know all about tortoises, pah)
thanks in advance for the advice, kim

#2 jay

jay

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 389 posts

Posted 31 July 2012 - 08:11 PM

Hello Kim welcome to the forum
awww,what a lovely present ,we love to see photo's on the forum,have you chosen a name yet?
My horsefield torts live outside 24/7,they live in a breeze block house which is insulated and has uvb strip light and basking lights which is surrounded by there enclosure so they can wander in and out in the summer,there lights are on a timer which i overide in the summer months as they enjoy basking out in the sunshine when we get some sunshine :sun: :lol: ,there tubular heater comes on in the winter time,there substrate is topsoil,some use topsoil mixed with sand,i bathe my torts most days as they enjoy it and it is a good way to make sure they do not get dehydrated and they often poo in there bath.there is an edible weed list on the forum and if in doubt of any weeds just post a picture and someone will help if you are not sure, how are you housing your little one at the moment?looking forward to seeing pictures.
Jaynex

#3 kimmie1985

kimmie1985

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip