Should a 4yr old live outside

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_tcrosswell_*

Guest_tcrosswell_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 November 2005 - 04:43 PM

Hello all,

I'm new to world of tortoises and am yet to buy a Hermann tortoise as I'm doing lots of reading in to what requirements his new home should have.

We have decided to go for a 4 year old male Hermann tortoise (about 10-13cm long). However, we have not purchased him yet as the Vivarium, which store suggested, wasn't in stock.

On returning home and reading more, one of the things we are still not sure about is the most suitable housing. The staff member suggested that a 48" x 18" x 18" vivarium with glass doors would be suitable for the Tortoise until it is old enough to live outside, but after reading more about indoor housing I'm unsure.

It seems that the view on using a vivarium is mixed (although it seems most people here don't like them), with some people suggesting that a table top setup is preferable (with a heatlamp and UV light) than a traditional vivarium. I've also read that it would be OK to leave a 4 year old Hermann perminantly outside in the UK as long as he has a heatlamp in his enclosure to ensure he doesn't get cold. With all these different views I'm not 100% sure what is best. So I was wondering what setup would people suggest for a 4 year old Hermann?

We have an outside area set aside for an outdoor tortoise pen but should this only be used during the day in the summer?

Thanks again for your help,
Tom

#2 Guest_mattgriffin1_*

Guest_mattgriffin1_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 November 2005 - 05:11 PM

Hi Tom