7 replies to this topic

#1 tortoiselover

tortoiselover

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Interests:tortoises and snakes

Posted 20 September 2012 - 10:46 AM

Hiya my tortoise is about 3 year old and has never been hibernated due to bein in a pet shop. I need some advice as im so scared of it dying or something bad happening! How old should they be hibernated from any any other advice would really help. Thankyou :-)

#2 Freddy

Freddy

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 948 posts
  • Interests:Journalism, Amateur Radio, Astronomy, History, Literature, Music, Photography, Gardening, Conservation, Birdwatching, Tortoises.

Posted 20 September 2012 - 11:56 AM

Hi tortoiselover,
Hibernation can be a worrying time for all of us. But your feelings are natural and understandable. In fact we all experience them.
I have been hibernating my tortoise successfully for the past 30 years and still get a little nervous every time.
Tortoises are biologically programmed to hibernate. As long as you are well prepared and follow instructions to the letter there is no need to worry.
Here is an excellent guide to hibernation which you may find useful:

http://www.thetortoi...bernation04.htm

I would also encourage you to read some of the other posts in the hibernation section . They may be of relevance to you. Should you have any further questions feel free to ask. We would only be too delighted to help. Take care.
Kind Regards
Freddy

#3 leahcevans

leahcevans

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:I am 24 and have a male herman tortoise called Jay :)

Posted 21 September 2012 - 05:03 PM

This will be the second time i am hibernating my tortoise. Last year i panicked!! I read through every single article i could find and learnt a lot about it! i suggest you read up on everything you can, as A LOT of people hibernate wrong and end up killing or injuring their tortoise (the thing i was scared about). I am not so worried this year.