• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 pauliner1

pauliner1

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 June 2013 - 01:54 PM

Hello, I am new to this so please bear with me. My name is Pauline and I live in Hertfordshire, I have a 13 year old tortoise who has laid two eggs over the last few days, is this normal as she does not have a male companion, since laying her second egg she has buried herself in her indoor vivarium.Attached File  image.jpg   80KB   34 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   88.19KB   35 downloads. This is her outdoor enclosure, but I am still waiting for the turf to finish it off. 

#2 Guest_Wizzasmum_*

Guest_Wizzasmum_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 June 2013 - 03:34 PM

Firstly that enclosure is fine without turf. Turfed areas are not generally good for tortoises.

Have you not had the tort long, that you are making it a new enclosure? If not and there is a chance of her having been with a male in the past, then she needs to be put into an enclosure ASAP with soil etc where she can lay her eggs, if there is a possibility of there being more. Vivariums are very stressful for tortoises, especially if they have come from a more natural enclosure previously and if they are gravid (carrying eggs) they will hang on as long as they possibly can and could even become eggbound, while waiting for somewhere to lay them. A thirteen year old tortoise will need a larger area and certainly not indoors at this time of year.

I would say the first most important thing is to to get her out of the viv and into a natural enclosure with backup heating for poor weather days. Give her lots of warm baths to encourage her to pay any further eggs, but do make sure she has somewhere suitable to lay them, such as a sunny enclosure with soil at least one and half times as deep as she is long.

Good luck ;)

#3 Guest_Stella_*

Guest_Stella_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 June 2013 - 04:54 PM