- - - - -

Hello, Newbie Here :-)

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_becciwales_*

Guest_becciwales_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 June 2013 - 04:45 PM

Hello, I'm Becci, I'm new here and on the hunt for information in order to prepare fully for a possible new addition to our family. So far, we have a dog and 2 guinea pigs. I've ALWAYS wanted a tortoise, my parents had 2 large tortoises before I was born and I've always wanted one since looking at the photos as a child. My hubby has said that he may buy me one for my 30th, (just over a year away) if we do the research and know what we're getting ourselves into. :-)

My first question is: I've read somewhere that an indoor rabbit cage is a suitable home for them, but I can't find that again. Is this the case?
Our garden is all slabbed so he/she could have a roam around on a hot day but a permanent outdoor enclosure isn't possible. Though, we would move the cage in and out so tortie would have the best of both worlds.

Bec xx

#2 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 03:47 AM

hi becci welcome to the forum. :)

it's good to see your doing your research first before taking a tortoise on.

some do use thing's like rabbit cages as indoor enclosure's that work ok it's all about it been open and air flow, also the cage would need to be big enough that you can get a warm end and cool end.

it would be ok while the tortoise is small to take them out side in the rabbit cage, but you would need to think what you could do when the tortoise get's bigger as they need to be out side in the warmer month's as much as possible.

is it a Hermann your looking at getting?

you will find every one's very friendly on the forum so ask as many question's as you want there's always some one around to help. :)

#3 Guest_becciwales_*

Guest_becciwales_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 June 2013 - 09:52 AM