When To Start Process

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 karenhackwood

karenhackwood

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Interests:My two new torts - Bertie and Bruce. Two guinea pigs, Sandy and Rosie, Velvet the rabbit and Sam the dog - oh and my husband Steve....
    I love knitting and keeping bonsai trees.

Posted 29 August 2013 - 01:34 PM

i have two five year old torts.  Currently they are outside day and night.  I am new to keeping them - how do i start the process towards hibernation.  Do i bring them in to my sheet and give false light and heat and gradually shorten their days or do i leave them outside until say end of September?

:)

#2 Kelly

Kelly

Advanced Tortoise Member

• PipPipPip
  • 961 posts
  • Interests:Walking, circuit training, reading, volunteering with The Leicester and Rutland Wildlife Trust and looking after my menagerie of 3 cats, a leopard gecko, a 23 year old corn snake, Maddie the Staffordshire Bull Terrier, my 5 year old Hermann tortoise, Norman and my 2 year old, Hazel. :)

Posted 29 August 2013 - 06:04 PM

Here's an excellent link which I used as a basis for my first hibernation. x

http://www.thetortoi...bernation04.htm

#3 Freddy

Freddy

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 948 posts
  • Interests:Journalism, Amateur Radio, Astronomy, History, Literature, Music, Photography, Gardening, Conservation, Birdwatching, Tortoises.

Posted 29 August 2013 - 06:56 PM

i have two five year old torts.  Currently they are outside day and night.  I am new to keeping them - how do i start the process towards hibernation.  Do i bring them in to my sheet and give false light and heat and gradually shorten their days or do i leave them outside until say end of September?
:)

Hi Karen,