7 replies to this topic

#1 Marcus

Marcus

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 31 August 2013 - 10:23 PM

Hi

I'm new to the forum and tortoise keeping, although I did have one in the 1970's when I was a kid, usual thing escaped and never seen again.

Read the info on mini fridges which suggest a larder fridge is possibly best. However I have not got enough space for a larder fridge, can any body recommend a table top fridge they have had success with. I need to possibly hibernate my 10 yrs old Herman. Which brings me to his weight, he's 14cm and weighs 530gms in excellent health , would he be safe to hibernate? Looked at the J ratio and he's on the cusp, its my first time as I only got him in March. He's very active, eats well and loves a bath , does all the usual things etc... however has not put on any weight since I 've had him. Should he have put on weight or if active do they burn it off?

I'm just about to organise a test for parasites before he is hibernated so any advice would be gratefully appreciated.

Marcus

#2 Guest_Wizzasmum_*

Guest_Wizzasmum_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 August 2013 - 10:45 PM

If he has put on no weight since March, then you must not hibernate him but keep him going under lamps for the winter. how are you keeping him? You must also never worm them at this stage in the year. Worming must be done mid season/summer or you risk leaving some of the chemical residue in his gut.

#3 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,806 posts

Posted 01 September 2013 - 06:32 AM

hi Marcus, welcome to the forum. :)

I agree with sue if your tortoise hasn't put any weight on I wouldn't risk hibernation this year, I always think its best to have your tortoise for a year or so to get to know them and make sure there's no health problems before you hibernate, you could always look into hibernation next year.

do you have space indoors to keep him awake over winter with heat and uv. ;)