• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Bourne

Bourne

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 08:38 PM

Hi everyone. I wonder if any one can help us. Our daughter has a small tortoise called Sheila. She's about 5 inches long and 4-5 years of age (the tortoise, not the daughter!) we have noticed that her eyes seem to be very dry, and need coaxing with cotton wool pads and cotton buds to gently dampen them. We worry that she can't see to eat, etc. I' m afraid we don't know which breed she is, but the pet shop suggested she is one of the most common breeds. Any advice would be gratefully received!
Many thanks for your time.

#2 Beermat89

Beermat89

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 680 posts
  • Interests:Tortoises/reptiles,fishing/football

Posted 09 October 2013 - 08:51 PM

Hi there,
Im no expert but how are you keeping sheila?could be that the humidity levels are very low and the surounding temperatures too hot.are you batheing her regulary?try and upload a pic of her then can have a look at the problem and to see what species she is.
Regards matt

#3 Guest_Wizzasmum_*

Guest_Wizzasmum_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 October 2013 - 09:09 PM

Hi there,
Im no expert but how are you keeping sheila?could be that the humidity levels are very low and the surounding temperatures too hot.are you batheing her regulary?try and upload a pic of her then can have a look at the problem and to see what species she is.
Regards matt

Agreed! The substrate needs to be damp and regular baths too. Did you get her from a petshop? If so they should know what species she is . If you bought her from a shop and she had no certificates with her, then most likely a horsfield, which are burrowing tortoises, so used to living underground, where humidity is high. It will also help to know what substrate you are using. Soil is best as many are far too drying and can cause the problems you are seeing with Sheila.

Love the name ;)