• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 leemh99

leemh99

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 10:29 PM

Hi, I'm a newbie on here and very much looking forward to getting my 1st tortoise. I have already paid a deposit and just need to get my indoor enclosure sorted out before we welcome them to our home.

I am building my own home for them using an old 2 tier rabbit hutch we had lying around. I have a clear idea in my head how I want the hutch set up to accommodate them but I'm just a little stuck on how to keep it heated and well lite on both levels.

The hutch is 4ft x 1 1/2, I intend using all this space on the bottom floor. On the top level i will be making the floor space 3ft x 1 1/2 , the spare foot will be the space i use for a spot lamp dome with a 160 watt vapor mercury bulb in to hang down and create a hot spot on the bottom level. On the top level i was thinking of just having a uv strip light of some sort. To add enough depth for them to dig I have decided to completely take the flooring out and use some deep gardening tray that fit perfectly between the 1/12 gap. This should give then a good 6 inches to dig in on both levels with out disturbing our view of them. 

That is as far as I have got so far, I'm going to be starting work on it this weekend and just wanted to say hi and to see if anybody out there had any better ideas and whether this will be enough lighting and heating for them. 

I have attached a picture of the hutch before I cleaned it up to give you a better idea.

Thanks Lee

Attached Files

#2 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 05:41 AM

hi lee welcome to the forum. :)