Photo

Hibernation Question From A Complete Beginner!

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Pickle1983

Pickle1983

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 21 November 2013 - 09:01 PM

Hi all,
So I would really like to hibernate Queenie this year, I've noticed she is sleeping a lot more now and, reading all of the comments on here I know how important it is.
The problem is I have never done it before, I have had her for almost 4 years and I've always been afraid to do it :(

I was completely ready to begin the wind down period and then I mentioned it to two separate friends who both have tortoises and the said I shouldn't do it as there is a high risk she could die during hibernation :( I would feel absolutely awful of this happened. So I thought I would speak to the experts on here!

Queenie had a really healthy appetite all over summer, she had an abundance of different edible foods and I kept a check on her weight frequently.

At the moment she weighs 542g and is 13.3cm's. She is about 6 or 7 years old and the Jackson ratio says she the ratio is 0.23 which I know is slightly overweight, this is why I thought it might be good to hibernate her because it should hopefully bring her weight down.

But now I'm terrified about her dying or getting ill.

She seems very healthy to me, she regularly goes to toilet and, while she doesn't really drink from her water bowl regularly, I do bath her to try to keep her hydrated.

Can any one offer a worried owner some advice?

All help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Nic

#2 Freddy

Freddy

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 948 posts
  • Interests:Journalism, Amateur Radio, Astronomy, History, Literature, Music, Photography, Gardening, Conservation, Birdwatching, Tortoises.

Posted 21 November 2013 - 10:39 PM

Hi Nic,