• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 vicky

vicky

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 22 November 2013 - 08:48 AM

My fridge has been running a few days now it is filled with filled water bottles plus the hibernation box ready for next Friday, I have been monitoring the temps and would just like someone to have a look at them to see if they are ok! This is my first time hibernating my tortoise and want to get it right. Also my tortoise is about 40 and I have rehomed her, nothing much us known about her history, is it ok to use the fridge method if she has previously been hibernated using the box method?

08.15 am. 4.4
08.21. 3.9
08.22 am. 4.0
08.55 am. 6.2
09.05 am. 6.7 fan turns on
09.15 am. 5.6
09.45 am. 5.3

Over a period of 24 hours the coolest the fridge has been is 3.9 and the warmest 6.9
Thanks for your help

#2 Freddy

Freddy

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 948 posts
  • Interests:Journalism, Amateur Radio, Astronomy, History, Literature, Music, Photography, Gardening, Conservation, Birdwatching, Tortoises.

Posted 22 November 2013 - 12:47 PM

Hi Vicky,

Your average fridge temps sound good to me. You should be aiming to keep fridge temps above 3C and below 6C.

Although it is preferable to keep the same hibernation method for a tortoise, using the fridge method doesn't really pose a problem unless your tortoise is having difficulty settling. The advantage of the fridge method is that it provides stable temps and allows you to stay in control of the process. This is good if you are inexperienced or are hibernating a tort for the first time.

Anyway, I wish you the best of luck with your torts hibernation. 

Take care.

Kind Regards

Freddy

#3 vicky

vicky

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 22 November 2013 - 02:26 PM