• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 LittlefootTheRussian

LittlefootTheRussian

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 25 December 2013 - 11:20 PM

Attached File  picture216.jpg   29.29KB   1 downloadsAttached File  picture215.jpg   31.07KB   0 downloadsAttached File  picture214.jpg   37.96KB   0 downloadsAttached File  picture217.jpg   28.9KB   0 downloads

This is my first tort that i got from a local pet shop here in Oregon. He/she is about 4 inches long so im guessing He/she is maybe 5 or 6? From what ive read and researched. Just wondering if anyone can tell me what gender?

#2 Beermat89

Beermat89

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 680 posts
  • Interests:Tortoises/reptiles,fishing/football

Posted 03 January 2014 - 07:25 PM

Hi there,
Im no expert but looking at the size of the tail then i would say defo male!
Regards matt

#3 Guest_Wizzasmum_*

Guest_Wizzasmum_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 January 2014 - 03:27 PM

It's a male horsfieldii, wild caught and I would estimate around 7-8 years old ;)

#4 Guest_Wizzasmum_*

Guest_Wizzasmum_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 January 2014 - 11:11 PM

I would say it is more likely. Russians are widely imported to USA sadly :( They have been importing them for many years and still do :(

#5 LittlefootTheRussian

LittlefootTheRussian

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 08 January 2014 - 11:58 PM

Yes He is a male ( I noticed when he peed on me the other day) Yes, he is wild caught. ( I didnt realize when I first bought him) I had talked to the pet store and they said that they have them shipped from a " company" From Europe. I felt very bad when I figured this out. I figured he was breed and shipped here to the USA...He is very well taken care of though, and I love him very much. He's enjoying climbing my laundry on my bed right now, and is a very active, happy, hungry Tort :) thanks for the help! 

#6 LittlefootTheRussian

LittlefootTheRussian

Tortoise Member

• PipPip