• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 LittlefootTheRussian

LittlefootTheRussian

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 25 December 2013 - 11:39 PM

I just recently bought a Russian Tort from a local Pet shop and believe its a male. This is my first Tort and I was looking at his shell while he was grazing in the yard to notice that his shell has little chips where it bunches up (kinda like semidry nail polish that you accidentally touch) The pet shop in town is fairly good at taking care of their reptiles and most of them are healthy. Im no expert in torts but have had experience w/ other reptiles in the past. Im just wanting to know if he is healthy. Ive only had him for three days and have been feeding him spring mix with some grass from the yard and dandelions. He also for now lives in a 50 gal glass tank with 100watt and Uvb/Uva bulb, If that helps at all.

Heres some Pictures...

Attached File  picture215.jpg   31.07KB   0 downloads

Attached File  picture216.jpg   29.29KB   0 downloads

Attached File  picture217.jpg   28.9KB   0 downloads

#2 Guest_Wizzasmum_*

Guest_Wizzasmum_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 December 2013 - 10:04 PM

If the pet shop are keeping their tortoises in glass tanks and giving the advice to keep it as you are, then they are all likely to be unwell very soon. It's hard to see what you mean about growth from the pics, and seems to have had good growth until recently, in fact it appears to be a wild caught tortoise, which the pet shop will have bought from an importer. As horsfields don't need papers, it is easy for people to sell imported wild caught ones and the pet market is unfortunately full of them. This is why process are now so low. I would be interested in what age they are giving for these, if any? This is how horsfields should be kept www.tortsmad.com/russians.htm

#3 LittlefootTheRussian

LittlefootTheRussian

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 27 December 2013 - 06:39 PM