What Plants Do You All Use?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 MiriMaran

MiriMaran

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:I have boys age 11 and 12, 1 husband, 2 dogs, 2 pigs, 1 goat, 1 tortoise, 3 sheep and 19 chickens. Lots of mouths to feed ad not much time for hobbies. I work as a self employed gardener.

Posted 04 October 2014 - 06:34 PM

I thought that this could be an interesting thread.  As we are planning our outside enclosure I would be very interested to know what plants people put in their outdoor enclosures.  Also do any of you have plants in the indoor part of the outdoor enclosure?

#2 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts

Posted 05 October 2014 - 05:02 AM

Hi, in my outside enclosure I have different ornamental grass, heather, hebe, yucca plants, I also have lavatera which flowers, you can also have lavender and hibiscus these are all really good plants to use in the enclosure as they don't get  eaten, have a look on here it might give you some more ideas. :)   http://www.thetortoi...e/plants_19.asp.

I also have other plants and weeds in that they just eat like pansy's and viola, for the weeds I just planted loads of seeds around the enclosure and what grows they just eat here's a really good weed seed mix, they do well been planted late in the year. :)  http://www.tlady.cla...t/herbiseed.htm

#3 MiriMaran

MiriMaran

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:I have boys age 11 and 12, 1 husband, 2 dogs, 2 pigs, 1 goat, 1 tortoise, 3 sheep and 19 chickens. Lots of mouths to feed ad not much time for hobbies. I work as a self employed gardener.

Posted 07 October 2014 - 01:38 PM

In an ideal world I would like the enclosure to be full of edible plants so that she can just forage without me having to feed her, but I don't think we can build one big enough to give the plants enough time to recover!!

#4 Guest_Stella_*

Guest_Stella_*