Herbella's First Hibernation

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 MiriMaran

MiriMaran

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:I have boys age 11 and 12, 1 husband, 2 dogs, 2 pigs, 1 goat, 1 tortoise, 3 sheep and 19 chickens. Lots of mouths to feed ad not much time for hobbies. I work as a self employed gardener.

Posted 07 October 2014 - 01:58 PM

As many of you will know from my other posts I have was given an 8 year old Hermann female this summer who, with her previous owner, has spent the winter in a tortoise table and the summer outside on a gravelled area.  She has never hibernated.  We were told not to let her outside if it was below 21C and bring her in at night if the temp dropped below 10C.  Our vet said if she is digging down outside that means she's too cold and needs bringing in.  I have read quite a lot of info on hibernation and preparing a tortoise when they live outside sounds OK, but what if they are currently snug and cozy indoors?

We will soon be making her a permanent out door area that will have a cold frame as her house probably with a tubular heater (thanks Karen for that bit of advice) for cooler nights.  Its all in the planning stage at the moment.