Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Interests:Family
    Walks with my dog
    Tortoises
    Reading

Posted 07 November 2014 - 05:03 PM

Hello, I am new to tortoises and have had my 2 six month old Hermann's for about 6 weeks now. They seem very happy and are eating well, a weed diet. I was told to keep a smaller heat lamp on at night for them while they are tiny but have noticed when they sleep they are not digging down into their substrate just sleeping on top of it. Is this ok or normal? I want to do the best for them. Any advice appreciated, thanks Julie

#2 Guest_SueBoyle (was wizzasmum)_*

Guest_SueBoyle (was wizzasmum)_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 November 2014 - 06:53 PM

They don't need heat lamps on at night even when first hatched. It can actually be harmful to them and as you have found interferes with normal behaviour such as digging down. No heat is needed vet night at all. Was this a reptile shop that gave this advice?

#3 Julie FC

Julie FC

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 7 posts
    Walks with my dog
    Tortoises
    Reading

Posted 07 November 2014 - 07:31 PM

No it was the breeder I got them from. Thank you for this Sue I will leave it off each night now. How long should their light/heat be on in the day. At the moment I have them on for about 13 hours. Julie

#4 Guest_SueBoyle (was wizzasmum)_*

• Guests

Posted 08 November 2014 - 10:24 AM

That's very unusual advice from a breeder, as if they had done even the smallest amount of research, they would know how bad this can be for them. Breeders usually provide comprehensive care sheets too, for their immediate needs. Hopefully paperwork etc was completed properly. Normally light hours need to replicate normal daylight hours as this their activity trigger, but in wintertime this might mean they go into hibernation mode. I would aim for very little weight gain during winter (if any), so weigh weekly to make sure you are on track for a good smooth growth pattern for the future ;) good luck.