• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 TinaD

TinaD

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 04 January 2015 - 09:59 PM

My tortoise is 1 year old I was told this was too young to hibernate but I think she is trying to hibernate herself. She is eating much less and when I turn her light/heat lamp she moves away and hides underneath a log. I'm new to this can anyone advise what the issue might be?

#2 crotchetybear

crotchetybear

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Interests:Tortoises, my dogs, animal welfare, conservation and environment, wildlife and travel.

Posted 05 January 2015 - 03:22 AM

One year old is not too young to hibernate. I have two one-year-olds in the fridge at present. She might be trying to hibernate but they do eat less if the temps drop. You haven't provided much detail about how you're keeping her - enclosure, temps etc - or how long you have had her, which would be helpful.

I'm relatively new to keeping young tortoises but find this forum very helpful - and no doubt someone more experienced than me will be along soon to offer you advice. You need to make the decision whether or not to hibernate but, if you do decide to go down that route she will need a wind down period to make sure her gut is empty. You will find good advice on this under the hibernation topic.

However, if you haven't had her very long or are concerned she might not be 100% fit it might be best to keep her awake and overwinter this year, in which case you will need to maintain suitable temps to keep her eating and active.

#3 Guest_Dolly_*

Guest_Dolly_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 January 2015 - 01:27 PM

Hi tinaD

I can't help because I am new also to the keeping of tortoises. I hope you don't mind if I just ask the poster beneath you a question.

Crotchebear why is your tortoise in the fridge?

Samantha

#4 crotchetybear

crotchetybear

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 71 posts