• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Laura-1992

Laura-1992

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 01 February 2015 - 05:28 PM

My 3 year ols hermanns used to be really active and forever running about - since before Christmas he seems to be really lacking in movement. He used to love his leaves and food however now he hardly eats and doesn't bask under his lamp. I'm not sure if the lowering in temperature as its winter makes a difference or is he ill? Thanks, Laura

#2 vikki01

vikki01

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Interests:Animals
    Countryside
    Walking
    Reading

Posted 01 February 2015 - 07:35 PM

Hi Laura,

I am a newbie to this so only guessing but could it be that he would naturally be hibernating now. Have you checked your temperatures/renewed your lamps recently - just wondering if he could be a bit cold or not getting enough uv? As I say I am a complete newbie and only basing this on what I have read so hopefully someone with far more experience can give you a better answer.

Vikki. :unsure2:

#3 vikki01

vikki01

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Interests:Animals
    Countryside
    Walking
    Reading

Posted 01 February 2015 - 07:44 PM

Hi Lauren,

Have just seen your other post about Shermanns new home - it looks really good but just wondering if this is what has upset him. Again just from what I have read they aren't keen on change and wonder if your move and his new home have been at about the same time that his behaviour has changed? I guess as an ex veterinary nurse I would say if in doubt get him checked but this is only as good as the vet you go to if you see what I mean!! ( in other words try to find a recommended tortoise experienced vet :)) good luck and as I said before sure one of the experts will be able to give best advice and I hope he is better soon :happy:

Vikki.

#4 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts