5 replies to this topic

#1 StaceyVictoria

StaceyVictoria

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 May 2015 - 09:43 PM

Hello!

I'm new to tortoises and am hoping to get a hatchling Hermann in the next few months, for now I'm just getting everything set up and ready.

One thing I can't seem to get my head around is the lighting and heat, I have a tortoise table that is 32 inches in length and 14.5 inches in width.

I've been reading through the forums and have seen a lot of people mention using a arcadia t5 tube light, if I had something like this would it need to be placed along the top of the table going length ways? Would this light only provide uvb and uva rays with no heat? If so, what would be the best bulb for heat?

Thank you for taking the time to read this!

Stacey

#2 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts

Posted 01 June 2015 - 02:59 AM

Hi Stacey, welcome to the forum. :)

The arcadia t5 is a good strip bulb, I have this in my hatchlings table, this only gives off uv and no heat, for heat you will need a ceramic holder and a normal household spot bulb that you can buy at most shops like Asda, Morrison's etc, both uv and heat bulb need to be placed together in the table,  you can buy a combined bulb though that does both heat and uv together these just fit into the ceramic holder. :)

#3 StaceyVictoria

StaceyVictoria

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 June 2015 - 03:38 PM

Hi, thank you 😊

Ah that's great thank you, I think for starters I might get a combined bulb and as I get more used to everything I'll branch out into the seperate ones.

Thank you for your help!

#4 Beermat89

Beermat89

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 680 posts
  • Interests:Tortoises/reptiles,fishing/football

Posted 02 June 2015 - 01:48 PM

Hi Stacey