• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Reajen01

Reajen01

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 17 June 2015 - 05:28 PM

I have just joined the forum as I have just become a new owner to a baby Hermanns.

After spending the last four days researching and reading everything online that I can get my hands on, he (or she) is now settling in. He has a tort table 1.5ft by 3.5 ft, Arcadia D3 lamp, basking lamp at 32*c, sterilised top soil, play sand 50/50 substrate, different types of tort safe weeds each day, water dish with pebbles in it changed daily and plenty of rocks, pebbles and slate to explore. The cooler shelter end is 20*c. F10 to clean everything also. He is bathed daily in warm water for 10-15 minutes and he is 5cm and 30g. Work on the outdoor enclosure is underway.

So, to the story, an uncle of mine is a reptile enthusiast, two bedrooms of his house are reptile rooms, I avoid entering them as I find it distressing, I am no reptile expert but the conditions often seem sub standard. Him being a close relative, I have been able to mention this but it is met with the 'know it all attitude" and my concerns are ignored.

Anyhow, I have wanted a tortoise since I was a child but had simply never quite got around to buying one. I had a small scale breeder friend where I used to live down south but at the time I used to travel abroad a lot with work so never had the time to care for a pet.

So, my uncle went to Hamm, as he always does, and for my 30th birthday he brought me the tortoise back, with a kind heart and good intentions.

I personally would have never ever bought a tortoise from anywhere other than a UK breeder that I had formed a relationship with beforehand, I am in no way judging anyone who doesn't but I just feel uncomfortable with places like Hamm.

Aside from the stress implications of such a huge amount of travel for a baby, am I to expect a lot of health issues?