• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Reajen01

Reajen01

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 27 June 2015 - 03:41 PM

Went on a weed expedition today and I cannot firmly identify the weeds below although I think I know what they are I would appreciate your expert eyes!

image.jpg2_zps6e6uwlrw.jpg

image.jpg1_zpsijjw9tqb.jpg

Thanks in anticipation

#2 Graham

Graham

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Interests:Looking after my Harry, of course, birdwatching, writing articles for my professional journal, Taekwon-Do, going to the ballet, eating out, holidaying in Scotland with my wife.

Posted 27 June 2015 - 04:51 PM

For what it's worth, here's my opinion:
Top picture, left to right, top to bottom:
1. Not sure, first thought was Eyebright.
2. Common Nettle
3. Common Thistle
4. Little unsure, but looks like Melilot
Big Picture: Tufted Vetch

I'm no expert, and am probably wrong, others on this forum will be more knowledgable.

#3 Reajen01

Reajen01

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 27 June 2015 - 05:08 PM

Thanks Graham, are the tort safe do you know?

#4 Graham

Graham

Advanced Tortoise Member

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Interests:Looking after my Harry, of course, birdwatching, writing articles for my professional journal, Taekwon-Do, going to the ballet, eating out, holidaying in Scotland with my wife.

Posted 27 June 2015 - 05:35 PM

Sorry, should have said in my post. The deadnettle and thistle are fine, the vetch is borderline, so I would avoid it, personally.

If I've identified the melilot correctly, then no, don't feed it. As for the possible eyebright, I cannot find any info on it's suitability, so don't feed, at least until it's been positively identified.

A really good site for checking plants' edibility is the Tortoise Table, have a look at this link:

http://www.thetortoi...=main&catID=310

#5 Reajen01

Reajen01

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 61 posts