19 replies to this topic

#1 Leafy2015

Leafy2015

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 23 September 2015 - 09:17 AM

Hi there,

I'm a total newbie to tortoises and this forum has so many useful questions and answers.

I'm going to ask first if you all think that this lovely tort is a Hermann?

She is female- totally flat underside and measures 20-21cm (the shell) or about 25cm when her head is out!

And weighs 1.5kg.

Thank you for anyone who can help me determine her breed.

Sian

Attached Files

#2 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,802 posts

Posted 23 September 2015 - 02:47 PM

Hi Sian,

Welcome to the forum. :)

Im going to leave this one for Sue, she's not available for a few days but will be back on then to help, it might be helpful if you post some pictures of the underside of her as well, she's lovely by the way, do you know how old she is. :)

#3 Leafy2015

Leafy2015

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 23 September 2015 - 07:25 PM

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your welcome.

I don't know how old she is and sadly I know nothing about her which is why I'm starting at the very beginning with trying to find her breed : )

Here are some photo's of her underside, she was not very pleased having her world turned upside down- legs everywhere!

Kind regards

Sian

Attached Files

#4 Leafy2015

Leafy2015

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 30 September 2015 - 06:00 AM

Hi again,

It's pretty quiet here : )

Does anyone have any info to confirm that she could be a Hermann?

I found her and I'd like to know if she is a Hermann or not because I am worried if she is then I will have tort that doesn't have any papers.

I'm guessing that she is of a good age but how old I don't know.

Any advice wiil be gratefully accepted.

Kind regards

Sian

#5 wizzasmum

wizzasmum

Advanced Tortoise Member

• PipPipPip
  • 1,106 posts
  • Interests:Family
    Tortoise keeping and breeding