• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Rachel1988

Rachel1988

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 November 2015 - 10:02 AM

Hello, just a quick one (I'm a newbie by the way, I did introduce myself in one of the other forums, owner of two 4 month old Hermann's -Flash and Lizzie) and it may be daft so I am sorry in advance!

I worry about the tortoises flipping over, particularly under their light, so just wondering if I should leave their light on or not when out? So far I haven't actually been out for particularly long since having them (just the school run and quick nip to shop etc) so have been switiching it off before I leave and turning it back on when I am back. I still ensure they are having approx. 10 hours of light a day. Just wondering in case I am out all day, what do I do?

Again apologies because I am sure this is a silly question. I can't neglect them of their lighting but I worry they will flip whilst out and could come to some harm or worse if it is for a sustained period of time. They have flipped over once or twice and don't know how to correct themselves as yet.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Rachel :-)

#2 wizzasmum

wizzasmum

Advanced Tortoise Member

• PipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Interests:Family
    Tortoise keeping and breeding
    Gardening
    Greyhound rescue
    Reading
    Walking
    Travelling

Posted 06 November 2015 - 03:13 PM