Supplements For A Complete Beginner

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Kitkat

Kitkat

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Interests:I am currently a sales administrator with a passion for animals.
    I studied 2 years of animal care at college then went on to do a HNC in animal management.

Posted 17 November 2015 - 03:26 PM

Hi 

I will be picking up my new 3 month old Hermann tortoise next week. I am so excited but panicking at the same time. 

I keep seeing all sorts of supplements available, limestone powder, calcium powder, nutrobol, cuttlefish ect. 

What do I actually need??? 

I understand that calcium is essential but doesn't nutrobol contain calcium? But amounts also depened on housing. 

I think I am going crazy LOL  :blush:

Any help would be appreciated. 

Thanks 

#2 gizmosmum

gizmosmum

Tortoise Member

• PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Interests:Dogs, narrowboats,

Posted 17 November 2015 - 03:38 PM

Lots of people know more than I do about this but I've been told that neckton is better than nutrobol. Molly has a little sprinkle on a wet plantain leaf every morning and cuttlefish to nibble on. Someone else will tell you what's in it. Think it's vitD3. It seems like a minefield at 1st.;-)

#3 Kitkat

Kitkat

Tortoise Forum Newby

• Pip
  • 14 posts
    I studied 2 years of animal care at college then went on to do a HNC in animal management.

Posted 17 November 2015 - 04:14 PM

That's brilliant, I've never heard of Neckton before but after a google search a lot of people seem to prefer it to nutrobol 

I think i'll just get neckton, calcium powder and cuttlefish and if anyone think I need anything else I can order again later. 

I've never been so relived to have a garden full of weeds since deciding to get a tortoise, now I have an excuse  :laugh:

Thank you for your help. 

#4 mildredsmam

mildredsmam

Advanced Tortoise Member

• Administrator
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts

Posted 17 November 2015 - 04:49 PM

Hi